Beauport Park can trace its history back to when General Sir James Murray built the house between 1763 and 1766, subsequently adding to the estate until it comprised about 5,000 acres. Murray, who had served in Canada, named the estate after Beauport in Canada. It was Murray who started the tradition of planting rare and unusual trees on the estate, many of which are still thriving on the course, most notably on the 3rd, 10th and 12th holes.
The property changed hands several times over the years with the main house being converted into a hotel shortly after the second world war and is now owned and operated by Bannatynes.
The golf course came into being in 1973 when Hastings Borough Council retained the services of renowned golf course architect Frank Pennick to design a championship golf course open to the public. This followed the closing of the Hastings Downs Golf Club on the east hill in the 1950’s and Hastings & St Leonard’s Golf Club in Filsham Valley in the 1960’s.
Beauport was opened on July 1st 1973 to meet the demand from people new to golf following the success of British golfer Tony Jacklin in the Open in 1969 and the US Open in 1970.
The club became so successful during the mid-1980’s it was listed as the 5th busiest public golf course in the south of England.
Those heady days of the 1980’s have now long gone and following Hastings Borough Council’s decision to sell the freehold in the early 90’s the club has had a few operators since.
The good news is that since the 1st September 2018, the club has been managed by an experienced golf club operator with over 30 years experience of successfully running golf clubs in the South of England. The club is about to start an exciting development plan which will see a significant uplift in the quality of the course, buildings and infrastructure.
With a beautiful, picturesque 18 hole championship golf course, 14 bay floodlit driving range and 9 hole par 3 pitch and putt course, there is no better place to learn and play golf in 1066 Country.